Captek Softgel International



Can Celiacs Eat Quinoa?

Even though quinoa is not commonly a grain like wheat, barley, or rye, it is a nutrient-dense grain crop that’s high in fiber, and does not contain “gluten.” The proteins in quinoa actually contain a more balanced range of amino acids required for good health and nutrition. Quinoa does, however, have seed storage proteins in the family that are distantly related to the gluten proteins present in wheat. To determine the suitability of quinoa, researchers assigned 19 celiacs to eat quinoa for six weeks daily. They consumed it as quinoa flakes and quinoa grains.

Read the full article here:

Your Cart